Update and shopping spree

So it’s been a completely crazy quarter.  Right after my internship at Glendale ended, I managed to score an internship at Teen’Scape, which is housed at LAPL’s Central Library downtown.  Beautiful building, nice staff, sketchy area.  I know it’s the big city and I shouldn’t be freaked out but a guy tried to kiss me on the first day on the Red Line train and maybe two weeks later a homeless guy yelled racist and rude remarks to me, so… it’s been an adventure.  Other than the sketchy people, the internship has been wonderful.  The teens are really nice and just trying to survive in the shitty neighborhood and go to school. 

Speaking of school, in addition to my internship, I’m taking four classes, one of which is an independent study since two of the classes are at the same time.  So one I’m taking mostly virtually. Which, quite frankly, stinks.  I don’t get to hear/experience the guest lecturers nor really participate in any of the online discussions.  It’s really weird, and kinda of half-assed.  (Btw, I’m really tired right now b/c it’s 7:30 in the morning on a Saturday and I’m at Jeremy’s work just kinda keeping him company since he has to be here, but we stayed up late last night as we went to see “For Your Consideration” so I’m kinda bleah… Thus the cussing I imagine.)  Anyway, I am somewhat disillusioned with my independent study but seeing as it’s 8th week or something, I suppose I should trudge along and just finish it.  It’s only pass/fail anyway, but I am also kind of irritated at that, as I think it may drag down my GPA.

*Sigh* I’m such a nerd.

Anyway, so yeah, my schedule has been crazy as I’m taking 4 classes plus internship plus working about 20-30 hrs a week still so I am BUTT TIRED. And I have been using VACATION to cover for my missing hours.  I am so tired I am considering not doing an internship the next coupla quarters to just give myself a break.  But I’m not sure if it’s just my current tiredness talking and something that I will regret come next quarter or when the time comes to do my job search, so I am putting off making a decision… Honestly, I have enough credits, so it’s kind of whatever, but I just hate letting people down when I’ve already agreed to something. 

So yes, internship, 4 classes, work, and oh, did I mention that Mel and I are the co-presidents of the UCLA student chapter of the American Library Association this year?  Yet another timesuck.  I couldn’t wait until this brief Thanksgiving break and I certainly can’t wait ’til this quarter is over in a coupla weeks.  Simply working is like vacation compared to this quarter.

Ok, so enough with the complaining! I now have coffee (free) and bread (also free) so I feel better.  I wonder if I am addicted to caffeine?  Ok, sorry, distracted again. 

So good stuff this quarter:

  • Reading a lot more in general, mostly YA novels and children’s books for my Contemporary Children’s Lit class
  • Not as freaked out about everything as I was last year
  • Think I’ve kinda decided to try and go into public librarianship, specifically YA and perhaps Children’s
  • I’m still alive
  • I’m mostly caught up with my work at my job
  • I was just elected the Secretary for the Cedars-Sinai Friends of the Medical Library (b/c I really enjoy not having any time to do anything)
  • Despite my insane schedule, I managed to finally see “Art School Confidential,” “Babel” and “For Your Consideration”
  • Found a cool new comic book store, where the owner dude seems really nice, even if I did manage to find a totally messed up version of Same Difference and Other Stories in his store
  • Incidentally, American Born Chinese was a finalist for an American Book Award this year! It is the first graphic novel to do so! Is that not awesome?!
  • My recent shopping spree at Tower Records

Tower Records is going out of business, which kind of sucks, as it was one of the best music stores out of all of the big chains.  Thank God we don’t live near the Lab in Costa Mesa or else I’d be bankrupt right now, as everything in the Tower Records near us was 40%, and if you bought 4 CDs, the 5th one was free.

So… on Thanksgiving Day, we watched “Babel” and I bought:

  • Slowdive – “Catch the Breeze”
  • Devics – “Push the Heart”
  • Wire – “On Returning”
  • Jesus & Mary Chain – “Psychocandy”
  • House of Love – “Fontana Years”
  • The Fall – “BBC Radio 1: Live in Concert”
  • Leonard Cohen – “Essential Leonard Cohen”
  • Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – “Nocturama”
  • Tori Amos – “Beekeeper”
  • Cardigans – “Super Extra Gravity”
  • Morrissey – “Live at Earl’s Court”

Yes, yes, I know, why don’t I have those CDs already? I don’t know, there was a lapse in judgement, or I just didn’t have time, or… I heard things from those albums that I wasn’t particularly thrilled with.  I was just happy that I found them at a reasonable price.  A lot of people were walking around in a daze there I think because they couldn’t remember the names of bands they liked.  Fortunately, I had no such problem.  In fact, we went back there yesterday to watch “For Your Consideration” and I hit some other spots that I missed the day before… Like the World and Jazz sections…

  • Charlie Hunter – “Songs from the Analog Playground”
  • Various Artists – “Putomayo presents Radio Latino”
  • Thomas Mapfumo – “Spirits to Bite Our Ears”
  • Cheb i Sabbah – “La Ghriba: La Kahena Remixed”
  • M.I.A. – “Arular”
  • Various Artists – “Ethiopiques Vol. 4”
  • Pink Martini – “Sympathique”
  • Fela Kuti –  “The Best of the Black President”
  • Amadou & Miriam – “Dimanche a Bamako”
  • Against Me! – “As the Eternal Cowboy”

Yes I am an insane person.  Yes, I think of them as “study aides,” which is part of my excuse. Yes, J and I may start podcasting after this quarter, which is another part of my excuse. Yes, I need to stop making excuses and get back to school work. Ciao!

~ by findcandice on November 25, 2006.

Leave a comment